Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​Rodrigues Regional Assembly​

Background information of the Rodrigues Regional Assembly


The Rodrigues Regional Assembly Act (Act 39 of 2001) received the President of the Republic’s assent on 20 November 2001. The Assembly met for the first time on 12 October 2002. 


The Assembly normally meets on Tuesdays for all business and other days when this is warranted. However, only on Tuesdays, questions may be set to Commissioners on matters within their jurisdiction. The Assembly, excluding the Chairperson, consists of seventeen members – twelve Local Region Members for six Local Regions and five Island Region Members. At present the “Organisation du Peuple Rodriguais” (OPR) has a Majority of ten members. The Minority party (Mouvement Rodriguais) has seven members The Chief Commissioner is Mr. Louis Serge CLAIR, G.C.S.K and the Minority Leader, Mr.Nicolas Vonmally.


The Rodrigues Regional Assembly is empowered to make Regulations for matters falling within its purview. It may initiate legislation which, however, has to be ushered into the National Assembly to become law for Rodrigues. The Assembly prepares and adopts its annual budgetary estimates. These are then considered by the Cabinet of Ministers before being incorporated in the National Appropriation Bill. The budgetary provision for the Rodrigues Regional Assembly features as a one line all-comprehensive item in the National budget.


In view of geographical distance and for the sake of greater efficiency, the law provides for regular interaction between the Rodrigues Regional Assembly, through the Chief Commissioner and the Prime Minister. Commissioners are also encouraged to consult relevant Ministers on the mainland as often as is necessary.


One can safely add that the decentralisation of decision making relative to Rodrigues has started well and been gathering momentum. This augurs well for the future of both the Republic and Rodrigues.

Rodrigues Regional Assembly's Website:
Mr. Louis Serge CLAIR, G.C.S.K​
Chief Commissioner​
Mr. Nicolson LISETTE​
Deputy Chief Commissioner​
Mrs. Rose Marie Franchette GASPARD PIERRE LOUIS, C.S.K​
Mr. Simon Pierre ROUSSETY
Mr. Louis Daniel BAPTISTE​
Mr. Jean Richard PAYENDEE​
Ms. Marie Rose de Lima EDOUARD​Commissioner​​